NEW YEAR NEW VIEW

As I was pondering what to write for my first “real” blog post, I thought about Isaiah 43:18-19:

“Do not remember the former things, nor consider the things of old.  Behold, I will do a new thing, now it shall spring forth; shall you not know it?  I will even make a road in the wilderness, and rivers in the desert.”

Maybe 2014 was a great year for you.  Maybe it was the worst.  Either way, don’t dwell on what is past.  Don’t dwell on the hardships or sadness.  Be thankful for the blessings, but don’t let even the blessings blind you to what God is up to now and in this year ahead.  He is always up to something new.  He will either give us eyes to see what that is when we ask…or maybe the patience to simply wait and trust.

2014 was a difficult year for me health-wise.  The pain and fatigue of Fibromyalgia held me back from doing many things I desired to do.  I also had a couple of small cancer scares.  Yet cancer never is “small” is it?  Fortunately they both came back negative, but to get that phone call…then the tests…it shakes your world and causes you to see things much differently.

There was also a lot about the past year that was positive.  When the pain and fatigue of Fibro are so intense, depression tends to accompany it.  It has in the past.  Last year it never did.  Though weak physically, I was emotionally strong.  Things were not always easy, yet I feel that I was extremely blessed spiritually, emotionally, and relationally.  God changed my perspective on a lot of things and reordered my priorities.  I can honestly say, even with the physical difficulties, I was  much more at peace.  I am grateful for what God has done.

Now it is time to look ahead.  One new thing God is up to is this blog!  It is definitely stretching me out of my comfort zone.  At the same time it is thrilling to see how God provides and what He can do with my fumbling efforts when I just follow His leading.  I am always humbled when God takes my words…or His own words that I just post…and gives them wings to fly to a heart that needs to hear them.  That is my purpose in doing this; that my words will touch your heart in someway and always point you in the direction of Jesus.

There is more I am looking forward to in 2015.  This year will mark thirty-six years of marriage to my high school sweetheart.  He is still my sweetheart and I love experiencing life and growing old with him.   We will also add grandbaby #3 to our family. 🙂  Grandchildren are the biggest blessing!  This year I am also praying for God to give me more of a burden for the lost…many who are near and dear to us.  Will this be the year we can see them come to know Jesus personally?

No matter what this year brings, I know God is always good, and even when He does not remove a difficulty, I know His plans for us are for good and not harm (Jer. 29:11).  I know He will always give us His grace which is sufficient (2 Cor. 12:9).  Ask for eyes to see what He is up to and watch it spring up!  If you have had a difficult year, I pray you will see a road through the wilderness and a river of refreshment through your desert.  You are loved.

So how were you blessed in 2014?

What are you looking forward to in 2015?

I’d love to hear your thoughts.  Thanks for stopping by!

 

Love & Blessings,

Debbie

 

 

Leave a Reply

