When You’re Feeling Underwhelmed

Untitled     A dry spell.  Stuck in a rut.  Underwhelmed.  Call it whatever you like, I’m there and I very much dislike it.  Is it the time of year?  Is it my own fault?  Is it spiritual warfare?  Maybe a little bit of all three.  If you have followed my posts on Facebook the past several months, you know I try to write devotions and posts that are encouraging.  I always want to point you to Jesus…in the good and the difficult times.  You have probably also noticed I have been writing much less.  After following God’s leading (very slowly I might add), I started this blog.  Now…I.  got.  nothin’.

I am simply honestly sharing where I am at.  I want so desperately to be overwhelmed with Jesus…the Bread of Life…the Living Water.  I want to delight in His Word.  For one, I NEED HIM!  For two, if I’m not filled to overflowing with Him, the words I write are no more than endless chatter.  The very thing I need, the very thing I desire…time in His Word and in prayer…seems to be the very thing I’m struggling with.  The farther I drift from His Word and prayer, honestly the less (meaningful) words I have.  I would love nothing more than for my reality to always be in that space where I’m overwhelmed and overjoyed with the Presence of Jesus.  It’s not always that way for any of us, so what do we do?  When we are in a dry spell, or under spiritual attack, sometimes the easiest thing to do is to do nothing and wait for it to pass.  That is also the WORST thing we can do! Like any relationship, we have to work at it, put effort in it, and if need be…fight for it!

So here is my action plan:

1. Prayer.  Not just “breath prayers”, but on my knees and face prayer…out loud!  We (I) tend to forget that though Satan knows our weaknesses, he cannot hear our thoughts.  So pray out loud and he will flee at the name of Jesus and the truth of His spoken Word.

2.  Read.  Just read His Word.  Be reminded of His promises, His truth, His love and faithfulness.  Most of all be reminded of His worthiness.  It is His Word, and the discerning power of the Holy Spirit that gives us understanding and changes us from the inside out.  It’s through God’s Word that we can know His heart.  I will also be more diligent in putting on my spiritual armor (Eph. 6:10-19).  That’s an entire lesson in and of itself!

3.  I am counting…really counting my blessings.  When we truly do name them…one by one…we are reminded, and truly surprised at what God has done! 

      Ephesians 3:20 tells us:  “Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.”  Thankful for an “underwhelming” dry spell?  You bet.  It reminds me how utterly grey and dismal life can be apart from Jesus.  It reminds me of what I’ve always said; Nothing worth having ever comes easy.  It takes work, diligence, and perseverance.  I am NOT saying we have to work for our salvation….no…not at all (read Eph. 2:8-9).  But we are responsible for our own obedience and spiritual growth.  It is our own choice to make time – or not – to read and study our Bible.  It is our own choice to talk to our Heavenly Father in prayer…and to be still and listen.  Like any relationship, true intimacy takes time and effort on our part.

I am greatly encouraged by James 4:8 which tells us that when we draw near to God….He will draw near to us.  I have to smile when I remember Psalm 3:3 which says; “But you, O Lord, are a shield for me, my glory and the One who lifts up my head.”  I always joke that being of short stature, I tend to only see eye level or lower…I forget to “look up” much of the time.  My Heavenly Father reaches down…takes my face in His hands…and lifts my head to look into His loving face.  Somehow, everything looks brighter when we look up!

Whatever you are going through dear friend, whether a dry spell, illness, difficulty or discouragement…look up.  Your Heavenly Father is the One who lifts up your head.  He is your Deliverer.  He is your Hope.

 

Love & Blessings,

Debbie

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “When You’re Feeling Underwhelmed

  1. My dear friend, if this is what you write when you are in a “dry spell” then we all must hold on and wait in great anticipation of how God will touch us when you write during a productive time. Oh my these words are powerful and I do believe this is EXACTLY the message God wanted you to share. We all have “wilderness moments”, when we enter into the dry places and our being becomes parched. Times when we desperately need the Living Water that is our Savior sweet Jesus to refresh our souls. No wonder this blog post was “temporarily lost”. Makes sense that the enemy was trying to prevent it from being completed, read and shared. I am sitting here thinking of several friends that I need to share this with and tell them to read your blog as I know it will encourage them as much as it has encouraged me. Your “dry spell” has great purpose in your writings. Trust that God will use many situations in your life to reach others for Him. I believe with all my heart that some of our life’s experiences happen because we are meant to share them with others who need to hear that someone else has been there, can relate and also can share what they have learned. It’s a verse that I know you are familiar with and God is laying it on my heart to share with you now: “Trust in the Lord with ALL your heart. Lean not to your own understanding. In ALL your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your path.” Proverbs 3:5-6 He is leading and you are following. You are acknowledging Him and you are helping Him to direct our paths to God in great obedience to the path He has for you. I know God is smiling down on you and the best is yet to come. Expect great things Debbie. I do and we will all give Him all the honor and praise that is due Him. Thankful for the gift God gave you and your desire to serve Him with all your whole heart, mind and soul. Remember, it’s not just in the valleys that we grow. We also grow in the desert too. Thank you Debbie! Blessings to you Ms. Blog Writer, daughter of the King of Kings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

