The Beautiful Dance

AnniversaryThe artistry of dance can tell a beautiful story.  I’m no expert and I’m only a dancer in my imagination.  So please don’t judge me, but despite the scantily clad dancers, I have watched every season of DWTS.  As I watch, I imagine myself light on my feet and breathlessly dancing the Quick Step.  I feel like a princess as I glide around the dance floor (in my imagination of course) dancing the Waltz.  I even bought an exercise DVD of Latin dances featuring some of the DWTS cast.  I thought; “This is going to be so fun!  Exercise and even learn to dance a little!”  Umm…not so much.  Let’s just say that I’m glad I was alone and the blinds were closed!  I’ll stick to dancing in my imagination, thank you very much.  However, I digress.

I think marriage is very much like a beautiful dance.  Sometimes we are in tight hold.  Other times we have to release our hold so that our spouse can pursue his own interests and God given passions.  At times we are joyously twirling around enjoying every moment.  Then there are times when we are quietly walking side by side as we deal with serious life issues…or we are simply content.  Sometimes we push each other away, but if we’ve learned to forgive and not blame, we will draw each other close again.  We may occasionally step on each other’s toes, but the more we practice and the more we diligently work at it, the easier it gets.  There’s less toe stepping and more being in step with each other.

Seagulls

We just celebrated 36 years of marriage on Valentines Day (Yes, at 18 years old I thought it was a perfect day so he’d never forget our anniversary!:).  I look back and think; “Wow. How we have learned to dance!”  We have had many highs and lows.  It has not always been easy.  Some said we’d never make it.  We almost didn’t, but that’s a story for another time.  It is definitely God’s grace that healed and held us together.  But we had to cooperate with Him.  Even when it looked like there was no hope, we still took our commitment seriously.  We weren’t quick to just throw it all away.  We tried.  We worked at it.  We learned give and take.  We learned how to lead and to follow.  We searched what God’s Word says about how a marriage is supposed to work, then we humbled ourselves before God…and each other.

These days it seems we sway back and forth in almost perfect rhythm.  We hold, release, we changeHeart shell effortlessly from the Quick Step to a leisurely stroll, to the perfect timing of the Waltz.  We rarely push each other away because we’ve learned how to forgive.  We’ve learned that mutual respect and happiness matters far more than who is right or wrong.  We finish each other’s sentences and anticipate one another’s next move.

I have learned so much from my husband.  Though it sounds cliché, he has made me a better person.  I know he’d say the same of me.  Along the way on this journey we have both learned that the other’s happiness and well being is so much more important than getting our own way.  We aren’t perfect by any means.  But when we put God first…above all else…and follow the principles He set forth in His Word, we no longer dance to the beat of our own drum…but God’s.  Despite all of our flaws, God will take two imperfect people and create a beautiful union.  A beautiful story.  A story unique to each of us.

Yes, we have learned the beautiful rhythm of the dance.  The dance that makes for a lasting marriage.

Love is patient

Love is kind

It does not envy

It does not boast

It is not proud

It is not rude

It is not self-seeking

It is not easily angered

It keeps no record of wrongs

Love does not delight in evil

But rejoices with the Truth

It always protects

Always trusts

Always hopes

Always perseveres

Love never fails.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8a

Love & Blessings,

Debbie

3 thoughts on “The Beautiful Dance

  1. Beautiful post! I agree, marriage is like a dance in many ways. Thankfully, the marital waltz doesn’t require real-life dancing ability—otherwise I’d be in serious trouble 😉

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Gazing Toward the Son and commented:

    Today we are blessed to add one more year to our marriage history…now 37 years. We are so thankful to God for His blessings and how far He has brought us. I had plans of posting some “then and now” pictures and writing a new post…there is so much I’d love to say about life together with this wonderful man! However, if you know me, I cannot always keep up with life and follow through with plans because this chronic illness likes to get in my way more often than not! So for now, I will share this post from our anniversary at the beach last year. Hope you enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

