T. I. M. E.

I have at least three different things I’m working on writing, one of which I planned to finish and post this morning.  But after what has transpired this morning I just have to share what is on my heart.

cropped-dscn2696.jpg

I often wonder…do we truly live each and everyday like it could be our last…or someone else’s last?  Do we live each day gratefully, or are we always striving to get to the next thing, missing what is right in front of us?  I know I fail on both counts.  I regret that.  I need to be…want to be more mindful.  More aware.  More thankful.  We can all come up with tons of reasons…excuses…why we don’t.  Time marches on and life just seems to get busier.  But the fact is…we can never get it (time) back.  So will we continue to just spend it, or will we invest it?  Invest it in the relationships God has given us.  Invest it in living lives of gratitude to God for the abundance He has blessed us with.  Or will we keep getting so easily irritated, complaining and wishing things were different?  If you are reading this…you and I have today.  Let’s make our lives count for the Kingdom and not just merely get through each day.  We were made for so much more than just “getting through” each day.  None of us are guaranteed tomorrow, so we need to be living each day to its fullest, making a difference in the lives of those who God has put around us.

This morning as I was having my quiet time with the Lord, I thought of a dear saint from our church who had suffered a stroke a week and a half ago.  As I started to pray for her, I got an overwhelming sense that she was being ushered Home.  I asked God to please be gentle with her, and through tears continued to pray for strength and comfort for her family.

Shortly afterward, I got word of another, whose life is hanging in the balance.  More prayers for that one and his family.

I got word two or three hours later that the first one was in fact ushered Home this morning.  I was struck with the fact that, had I not been still to hear the Holy Spirit prompting me to pray…and how to pray at that moment…I would have missed out on one of this life’s greatest blessings.  I would have missed out on the privilege of interceding for families who needed God’s intervening strength and grace at that moment.  I would have missed out on the honored privilege of praying (with many others), a dear saint Home.  I am sadly so good at putzing around with other things instead of stopping to pray when I should.  I think that’s why this struck me so profoundly today.  How many other spiritual blessings have I missed out on simply because I don’t stop to pray?  It is the most important thing we can do.

From what I understand, God was gentle with her.  He had allowed her to “see her daddy” in preparation for her Homegoing.  Friends, God is so very good and kind, and yes, gentle (smile).

IMG_20130902_114441

    The LORD is good to all; he has compassion on all he has made.  Psalm 145:9

Evening and morning and at noon will I pray, a cry aloud, and He shall hear my voice.  Psalm 55:17

Let us come before His presence with thanksgiving; Let us shout joyfully to Him with psalms.  Psalm 95:2

By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.  John 13:35

Love & Prayers for You,

Debbie

2 thoughts on “T. I. M. E.

  1. I could feel your heart as I read this Debbie. Remembering days The Lord has allowed us to share makes my heart smile. Love you dear!

    Like

Leave a Reply

