He Will Settle You

It was a blessing to be reminded of this verse today:

“But may the God of all grace, who has called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered awhile, will perfect, establish, strengthen, and settle you.” 1 Peter 5:10

 The word “settle” is what grabbed me (in KJV and NKJV).  In the Greek the word literally means “to erect”.  To erect something would be to secure permanently.  I know I am secure in Jesus Christ and for that assurance I am so grateful!  But that was not where my mind was going when I read the word “settle”.  I don’t know about you, but I can get a little wound up at times.  Okay… more than just a little.  It is not just the things I or my family may go through that trouble me (though yesterday was one of those days!).  It’s also the suffering others are going through as well; loss of loved ones, illness, all that is going on in the news, the world, etc.  Sometimes I just need to be “settled”.  I’m guessing you do as well.  Merriam-Webster’s dictionary defines the word as: “to bring to rest, to quiet, to calm.”  My Father does that for me when I call on Him, when I rely on Him.  He will do that for you too.

We all have times of suffering.  Take heart.  It won’t last forever.  He is perfecting you into His image.  He is making firm and sure your relationship with Him.  He is giving you the strength you need for the journey, and…He will settle you along the way.

Here is a little visual walk through a few blessings that help to settle me as well…when I take the time to stop. and. notice.  Breathe…and enjoy.

 

DSCN1335

 

SAM_0645

DSCN2934All New

DSCN1405

Edited

 

DSCN0420

0613122000 - Copy

0202010923a

DSCN0670

DSCN2203

IMG_20150518_153705

DSCN2216

DSCN2926DSCN0702

 

DSCN1279

Keep Gazing Toward the Son.

Love,

Debbie

 

Leave a Reply

