Monday Moments

From the time I got up this morning, I couldn’t get it out of my head.  Monday moments.  What am I to do with that phase?

I have always struggled with Mondays.  Always thought that the first half of Monday should be an extension of the weekend.  The second half could be the start of the work week.  Don’t you think that’s a good idea?  Give us a few extra hours to build up steam…like a locomotive.  It starts out slow, building up speed as it goes!

I think in the years I’ve had to deal with chronic illness, Mondays have gotten harder for me.  I’m exhausted from the weekend, and it doesn’t even have to be a busy one.  It’s just being out of my little ol’ routine.  Then there is that wonderful “to do” list that is always far longer that I have the energy for on any given Monday.

As I continued to ask God what I was supposed to do with that phrase, it struck me.  Instead of always being overwhelmed and weary, be on the lookout for one verse, one quote, one blessing….something that puts my focus on Him.  I may not accomplish even a fraction of my “to do” list, but I can always find something to smile about.  There is always something to be thankful for.

So I am going to be on the lookout for those Monday moments.  Moments where I’m reminded to be thankful, or reminded of what is important.  Maybe simply something that brought me joy.   I’m not sure where God may take this, but I’m willing to follow His lead.  Will you please join me?  I am going to attempt to post something short every Monday.  I would love it if you would share your Monday moments in the comments.  Together, let’s turn our mundane Mondays into Monday moments that glorify the One Who gives us every moment to praise Him!

Today’s Monday moment came from Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts Devotional.  Some excerpts that I needed to be reminded of today:

“We give thanks to God not because of how we feel but because of who He is.”

“He who is grateful for little is given much laughter … and it’s counting the ways He loves, this is what multiplies joy.”

“The life that counts blessings discovers its yielding more than it seems.”

“Why don’t I keep more of an eye on the number of His graces?  Why don’t I want to know that even though it doesn’t seem like there’s been enough rain, He reigns and He is enough and the bounty is greater than it appears?”

Oh God yes.  So many blessings.  So many graces in our lives that show how very much You love us.  Even on the hardest of days, it is You who breathes life into us.  It is You who gives the strength to go on when we have none.  Give me eyes to see Father.  Give me a heart that remembers to always look for ways You provide, ways You bless.  It is all grace.  I want to always remember.  Help me to always be thankful, because You are always faithful.  Thank you Jesus.

Counting blessings,

Debbie

Leave a Reply

