Thankfulness

MumsI truly enjoy Autumn.  I love the fresh, crisp air and the beautiful colors.  Apple crisp, pumpkin pie, pumpkin coffee creamer and a few Mums top my list of must haves.  It is the season we celebrate Thanksgiving.  I get it.  The history of it, the traditions and all.  But as I’ve gotten older, I have a bit of a problem with “one day” set aside to remember to be thankful.  If you think about it, we all have much to be thankful for each and every day.  Especially as a Christian, we have every reason to be overflowing with gratitude….daily.

I am thankful that God, through Jesus, has saved me from eternal death and torment.  That is never to be taken lightly.  But I am equally thankful He has allowed me to have a relationship with Him.  It is comforting.  It is strengthening.  It is precious to me.

HE.  Is.  Precious.  To.  Me!

Over the years He has been my Shelter in life’s storms.  He has been my Comforter in hurt and loss.  He has been my Deliverer from addictions.  He has helped me to see many things differently.  But speaking of “things”….

I sit here this morning looking around at our things.  Things that have been with us for many years mingled with newer things.  Material things, yes.  But things that (if I slow down enough to notice them) trigger memories.  Memories of our first home.  Memories of the energy I once had…raising two small, rambunctious boys, homeschooling them, serving God teaching, speaking, co-leading women’s ministry, gardening, crafting, cooking, baking, entertaining, etc.  Sigh.

Part of me mourns the loss of all I used to be before chronic illness.  But I realize that this is a different season of life.  Though there is much I wish I had the energy to do, I want to honor God with my life now, and be thankful for where I am at, and all I have in this season of life…at this moment.  I believe we can waste much precious time longing for what was, and failing to fully see and live with what is here and now.  We can, and should look back and be thankful for the memories.  Thankful for what was, for the life we were blessed to have…yet not long for it.  God wants us to be thankful daily for what we have…today.

“In everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”     1 Thessalonians 5:18 

  • A thankful heart changes our outlook; we are no longer negative and complaining.
  • A thankful heart makes us not angry, resentful, nor bitter.
  • A thankful heart makes us joyful and pleasant to be around.
  • A thankful heart helps us to enjoy the abundant life we have in Christ.

“The thief comes only to kill and destroy; I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.”  John 10:10

“It is good to give thanks unto the Lord and to sing praises to Your name, O Most High;  To declare Your lovingkindness in the morning and Your faithfulness by night.”  Psalm 92:1-2

Granted, we may not always feel thankful, but we can always choose to be thankful.  When we act out of obedience, God will make our feelings line up with our actions!

“For it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.”  Philippians 2:13 NIV

As you look at being thankful each day, here is my prayer for each of you.  Friends I know, as well as those I don’t….

I pray your day is blessed,

Old grudges and anger put to rest.

For then you can see with eyes anew

All the abundance God has ready for you.

Whatever trial has put you to the test,

He wants you to see that you are still truly blessed.

So be thankful each day from the start,

And you will be amazed at how joy has filled your heart.

I’d love to hear from you.  Please share in the comments how you are practicing thankfulness, and we can encourage one another!

Love,

Debbie

Leave a Reply

