Monday Moments

I’ve been having a moment….several moments.  I’m a bit of a mess this Monday.  But my Heavenly Father has heard my cries and blessed me in my less than beautiful messy moments today.

Being sick for over three weeks has got my chronic illness in a not so nice flare.  At this moment, I’m so tired (literally and figuratively), of being sick and tired.  Thinking of all that needs to be done for the next five weeks is making me feel completely overwhelmed again, and causing anxiety.  Though I have pared things way down to be much simpler, anything out of my little routine is too much these days.  It all used to be so much fun.  I want it all to be fun.  I want to make the holidays special for my family…and be able to enjoy the process.

While I was seeking God and some direction from Him this morning, I went back to one of my favorites of many years:

“I have chosen you and not rejected you.  Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”   Isaiah 41:9b-10

There I sat, tears streaming down my face.  He knows I’m weary.  He knows the desires of my heart.  And I believe His word.  Yes, I know we have to be careful about taking things out of context.  I know God was speaking to His chosen people through the prophet Isaiah.  But…God’s word is living.  It is active (Hebrews 4:12).  The Holy Spirit will take a portion of God’s word and speak right into our mind and heart exactly what we need.  Look at that verse and read it again.  Do you hear the tenderness in His voice?

I got up and tried to push myself to make a little progress in my day.  Hang with me.  The fun part is coming, (Smile)!  I had let Riley (my little schnauzer) out back.  A couple minutes later I looked out the kitchen window and thought I caught a glimpse of our back neighbor’s puppy.  I ran to the back door and sure enough, she had wiggled through the fence.  Her and Riley were having a grand time…while my neighbor was standing at the fence apologizing to me…

I’m sure you’re wondering what on earth all this has to do with God’s promise to help me!  For the past couple of years as this chronic illness seems to be worsening, I’ve often thought of how wonderful it would be to hire someone to occasionally clean the house for me so I can actually do something else with my limited energy.  I’ve also thought how much I could use help getting my office organized (it truly is a disaster).  I used to be such an organized and meticulous person…sadly, another thing that has gone out the window along with my energy.  So here comes the fun part I promised….

God allowed that rambunctious little puppy to wiggle through the back fence at just the right time.  He knew when my neighbor and I would both be here.  Though we have talked many other times, this time He allowed me to speak of my need.  As it turns out, she is very close with a woman who is a professional cleaner (as well as a Bible study teacher at a church I’m familiar with).  I know it is going to work out perfectly, because God is putting it in place.  Also, what I never knew…my sweet neighbor happens to be a professional organizer/interior designer, and has offered to help me get my office in order!  The best part – over the back fence, my sweet neighbor hugged my neck and prayed with me.   A meeting at just the right time…arranged by God…using a wiggly little puppy.

One thing I am learning, though still extremely hard for me to do…is to voice my need.  Ask for help.  I am realizing that God has people right near us that would be willing to help, or know someone who could help, but they can’t if they aren’t aware of the need.

Seeing God work in this way today, I am simply overwhelmed.

Only now I’m overwhelmed with gratitude!

Have you been aware of God moving in your moments today…or any day?!  Please share in the comments so others can be encouraged as well!

“And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 4:19

Jesus loves you,

Debbie

Leave a Reply

