A Teachable Moment

I had a moment today.  It just happened on Tuesday instead of Monday (smile).  You know I love mornings…if I could just get my mind and body to get moving to greet them!

This morning my granddaughters were here at nine a.m.  (I did manage to be clothed and in my right mind….well, close!).  I love the time I get with them.  I only wish my energy didn’t give out as quickly as it does so I could take them more often.  Needless to say, roughly three and a half hours later when their mommy took them home, I was ready for a rest!  But the peace and quiet gave me a second wind, so I washed the dishes, swept the floor, and did a few other little chores, then proceeded to make some lunch.

I hadn’t realized how hungry I had gotten.  I was starving!  Before I even carried my food to the table, I said a quick prayer and took a big ol’ bite of my burger at the counter!  Then I heard it.  I heard that still, small voice in my spirit;

“Do you hunger for Me like that, so you simply cannot wait to be filled with My words and My Spirit?”

Ouch.  Oh how I want to.  I do spend time with Him daily, whether a lot or a little.  But….like that?  I had to ask myself; is it usually because I know that I’m no good without Him and I need Him (which is a pretty good reason)?  Or am I truly hungering and thirsting for Him so much that I can’t wait to devour His Word and spend time quietly alone with Him?

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.”  Matthew 5:6

Scripture often describes our longing for God as an intense hunger or thirst.  If you have walked with God any length of time, you’ve learned that nothing this world has to offer satisfies our desires and longings like God can.  Time in His presence satisfies our soul hunger in a way that nothing else ever can.  The cool thing is, the more time we spend with Him, the more we desire that time with Him, and the less we desire other “things”.

“O God, You are my God; I shall seek You earnestly; My soul thirsts for You, my flesh yearns for You….”  Psalm 63:1

The NIV states 1 Peter 2:2 a little more plainly, where Peter tells us:

“Like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation.”

Other translations use the words; desire, long for.  Same idea.  We need to desire, and feed on the Word of God to grow in our salvation.  Otherwise we remain spiritual babies, immature in our faith.

We don’t think twice about feeding our bodies.  I was reminded of this very clearly today, the way I couldn’t wait to get some food into my mouth!   Yet why do we neglect our time in His word?  Why do we allow ourselves to get so caught up in the busyness, and other things in this life that we literally starve our souls?

In John 6:35, Jesus himself said; “I am the bread of life; he who comes to Me will not hunger, and he who believes in Me will never thirst.”

So my challenge to each of us…spend some time in your Bible, feeding on the Bread of life.  As Psalm 34:8 says; “O taste and see that the Lord is good; how blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him!”  You will be filled.  You will be satisfied.  You will be blessed and joy-filled.

Leave a comment and share your moments where God has clearly spoke to your spirit.  I’d love to hear how you are listening to Him and growing in your walk with Him.

Until next time,

Debbie

Leave a Reply

