Monday Moments – Puzzle Pieces

After a few crazy weeks, I felt I needed to get back to being mindful of my Mondays again…rather than allowing them to overwhelm and stress me!  This one started out just like that…until I had some serious time with the Lord.

I had a difficult time getting to sleep last night.  One set of our kids have been through a lot recently.  Still are and more.  I felt overwhelmingly burdened for them and was trying to pray.  But even though I was praying, just thinking about some of the issues was only making me anxious.  When I woke up this morning…yep…my mind started going again.  I knew I needed some time in the Word and prayer.

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God;  and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 4:6-7

After praying for them for quite awhile, I returned a call from our other set of kids who were thrown a curve today.  It looks to be a major change is in store for them.  One that at first glance seems not so good, but after some consideration, it could possibly be a blessing.  But they will have to figure it out.

All morning I was so burdened, so anxious about things on our children and their families’ behalf.  As I was talking with God, I was reminded that He opens our eyes to see problems.  He allows our adult children to share their problems with us (which is a blessing).  And He will burden our hearts for them – not to cause us more anxiety, but so we diligently pray for them.  We cannot live our adult children’s lives for them.  We cannot step in and try to “fix” their problems for them.  Though it’s hard to watch them struggle, that’s not our job.  It’s God’s.  God can fix their problems if He so chooses.  But more than likely, He wants for them to search for Him themselves in the midst of their problems, and grow in their faith.

God does not burden our hearts to cause us anxiety. 

He burdens our hearts so we will pray.

After we have prayed, we then trust Him to do the necessary work in their lives and meet their needs.  When we trust Him for what is needed, we don’t have to be tied up in anxious knots.

Many years ago I heard a speaker who likened our lives to the pieces of a puzzle.  When we keep trying to make something work out how we think it’s supposed to and it just isn’t happening, we get frustrated and stressed and cry out to God.  It is then we hear Him say;

“My Child, I want to help you.  I do, and I will help you with your own puzzle pieces.  But you keep hanging onto a puzzle piece that is not yours.  It belongs to someone else.  Let go of that and you’ll be surprised at how easily your own pieces fit together.”

As a parent of adult children and a grandparent, we definitely fit in the framework of the puzzle….but we no longer have to hold all the pieces and try to make them fit.

“Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and lean from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”  Matthew 11:28-30

Good night friends.  May your sleep be sweet.

Debbie

 

Leave a Reply

